Share this article

​​Johannesburg Migrant Advisory Panel (JMAP)
​​The Joburg Migrant Advisory Panel (JMAP) consists of role players and stakeholders in the migrant sector.

Chaired by Pastor Thomas Kitutu, the panel comprises representatives from 30 organisations as well as officials from a number of Joburg City departments. It came into effect after the launch of the Joburg Migrant Advisory Committee on 6 October 2009.

The panel is broken down into smaller working groups based on members' experience and expertise, and addresses pertinent issues facing migrants. An executive committee has also been set up, and terms of reference adopted:

1. Preamble
The JMAP, working under the provisions of the Joburg Migrant Helpdesk policy and the auspices of the Johannesburg Migrant Committee (JMAC) is mandated to establish a partnership with relevant stakeholders and migrant-represented organisations with a view to mainstreaming migration issues and promoting social inclusive programmes and initiatives within the City of Joburg.

2. Representation
Representation may include migrant-represented organisations, Joburg's City departments, provincial and national government departments and international organisations.
3. Objectives – action plans
The JMAP's work is divided into specific task teams in the form of working groups. Migrant concerns or issues stemming from the City's Migrant Helpdesk and partner organisations provide the basis for the planning of intervention strategies.

Meetings focus on issues for discussion and respond to feedback reports from working groups. A quarterly report highlighting successes and challenges is tabled for JMAC meetings.

Four working groups have been established. Depending on progress, others may be added or dissolved as recommended by JMAP.

The four working groups are:
3.1 Health and Social Assistance Working Group (incorporating housing and shelter issues), co-ordinated by Daisy Maimela, Mmatli Senyane and Priscilla Tshishonga;
3.2 Business and Economic Working Group (incorporating banking, street trading and by laws), co-ordinated by Dieketseng Lelingoana and Sanele Mayisela;
3.3 Education, Training and Labour Working Group, co-ordinated by Trisha Rajendrakumar; and
3.4 Safety Justice and Immigration Working Group, co-ordinated by Nontsikelelo Bolani. ​​